Harwinton Fair


Scholarship Winners of 2016

Sarah Ammirato

Philip Weingart

Sarah Ammirato was awarded our 2016 agricultural scholarship of $1,500 on August 8th at the meeting of the Harwinton Agricultural Society’s Board of Directors. She graduated from Wamogo Regional High School this June and will be attending the University of Connecticut in the fall. Sarah is pursuing a career in the field of Agricultural Education, working toward a degree in agricultural teaching. We thank her for her past participation in our fair and wish her success in her future. Philip Weingart was awarded our 2016 non-agricultural scholarship of $1,500 at the August 8th meeting of the Society’s Board of Directors. He attended Lewis Mills High School and graduated this June. In the fall, Philip will be attending Old Dominion University in Virginia, pursuing a career in engineering. He has been a volunteer at our fair, and constructed a new wood chopping building under the Eagle Scout program. The Society would like to thank him for his hard work and time given to us. We wish Philip continued success in the future.

The Scholarship for this year

The Harwinton Agricultural Society, Inc. offers two scholarships to all students active in the Harwinton Fair without discrimination as to race, color or creed.

Applicants must be residents of Connecticut and enrolled at an accredited institution of higher learning. The two scholarships of $1,500 each will be awarded annually to a graduating high school senior or a current college student. One scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a course of study in agriculture, home economics, or a related field in the next academic year. The other scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a course of study in any field during the next academic year.

The selection committee will consider the following factors:

  1. Fair participation is 35%
  2. Scholastic standing is 30%
  3. Citizenship & leadership is 20%
  4. Financial need is 15%

You can download the application form here, or pick one up at the Guidance Offices of area high schools. Also, our fair secretary, Lisa Shimels, can be contacted for an application form. The deadline is set each year for the end of June.

Students may apply each year and are eligible even if they were past recipients of a scholarship.